Unpopular Opinion: Dear White People from Another White Person

There’s a lot of political unrest right now, so let’s get some things straight.

I am not proud to be an American right now. While I do not agree with what this country was built on (stealing land from natives, murder, and rape), I agree in the motto and belief it was built on: the American dream. An idea that everyone deserved freedom. Everyone deserves to be happy. Everyone who works for success deserves it.

So someone, please, explain to me, why in 2015 Starbucks changing the color of their holiday cup causes more outrage than African American students being assaulted because of the color of their skin.

Here’s some stuff other people won’t say, but I will because I don’t care if I tick you off:

  • You are not better than anyone because you are white. Period. And if you think you are, go fork yourself.
  • You have no place to say who belongs in America and who doesn’t. If you want to get technical, unless you are 100% Native American, some part of your ancestry is an immigrant. Some part of YOU is the intruder. America did not start out a white country. We stole it from “minorities.” Remember that.
  • It’s fine to have an opinion. But when your opinion starts infringing on other people’s happiness and freedoms, your opinion is wrong.
    • But Rachel, being a racist jerk IS my opinion. Hating gay people IS my opinion. Cool, that’s fine. But when you act on it and endanger other people and take away their rights, you’re wrong. You are completely entitled to be a crappy human, but don’t take the rest of us down with you.
  • Your hashtags help no one. Jumping on the latest social media bandwagon of statuses or tweets or whatever doesn’t do jack. You want to show black people you stand with them? Go stand with them. In public. In the eyes of people who will judge you. In the shoes and next to the people who are actually fearing for their lives. Not behind your computer with a keyboard. You help no one.
  • Most likely, you’re a hypocrite. You cannot say “f**k the police” and then call them when someone is breaking into your house. You cannot abuse the n-word and tell racist jokes, and then #standinsolidarity. You cannot claim to want to deport a nationality because they are “rapists” or “lazy” and not deport all the white people who are “rapists” and “lazy” too. You cannot.
  • Stop turning years of other races’ hardships and struggles into YOUR drama. Stand with them. Cry with them. Support them. But this is NOT about you. This is about THEM and about US as a nation. Which brings me to this….

We are a society that is destroying itself. We are attacking our own people. We are creating civil war. People are more concerned with looking like they are a part of something than actually being a part of something. We would rather solve problems for citizens over seas than citizens in our own backyard. You can preach being a “proud American” until you’re blue in the face. But if you lack the capacity to even be a decent human being to your fellow Americans? You’re the outsider. You might be a proud American, but America is not proud of you.

 

21 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion: Dear White People from Another White Person

  1. Found your blog via your Millennial entitlement post, which I really enjoyed, but glad that I dug deeper! I love this post. There’s so much belief band-wagoning and not enough action. It’s easy to feel helpless, then I remember what parts of our country I DO love, and that we’re not helpless. We can always take the control and power back. Thank you for your honesty 🙂

    Like

  2. This is so great and I feel exactly the same! I’m a photographer, so I view things differently anyway. But I’m also a history teacher and I’ve had that conversation with my students: how everyone is an immigrant, unless you’re 100% Native American….you would be surprised at the shock on their faces. I think a lot of people have forgotten what this country was built on. Not “Jesus” or “the white man” but rights, the poor, huddled masses….the passion to be free and to know you could build a better life for you and your family. That’s what we all want. Why should only a select few be allowed to have it? Love your views! P.S. The Millenial post was SPOT ON.

    Like

  3. I’m been enjoying your blog, especially your thoughts on depression, as it’s something I’ve dealt with since I was very young. More on that later. As for this, I think you’re spot on and wanted to add to this idea to the mix: white people are afraid that when they become the minority, which inevitably, statistically they will, they will receive the same cruel and inhumane treatment we’ve inflicted upon on them, through slavery and genocide, when they were minorities. I also am not sure this isn’t just a human thing–race is a construct that makes it easier for us to justify behaving in evil ways, just like religion.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I forgot to include: I want to tell you a story about something that happened to me in 2001. The 2000 census had just come out. I lived in California, and the census report showed that whites where in the minority. I went to a bachelorette party with old friends and brought the topic up. I ended up getting in a huge fight with this woman I had grown up with and known for years (my brothers best friends twin sister). Oh, she was so full of disbelief and anger! I left the party. People think I’m hard to get along with.

    Like

  5. Was the human DNA not just mapped in the last couple years. Did it not say that everyone came from the same spot in the world then traveled outwards. So that being said , I disagree with the whole native thing. In my opinion we as humans spread out on gods green earth and no. Ya I said no one deserves to be told that they own the land regardless if they were here first. The people or ancestors you speak of are no longer here. We are human. Simple as that. Stop making it a white / black/ purple issue. It’s a human issue.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s nice to hear someone young enough to be my Grandaughter, express opinions about issues that I consider important! Gives me hope for MY Grandchildren’s future! ‘Course I realize you really don’t Give a Shit what I think!!!!! Nice work, keep pluggin’ KID!

    Like

  7. Read some history, Rachael. Yes “whites”, even though this is racist as hell, have done effed up shit. So has every other culture, society, empire, race, etc etc etc for time eternal. This IS history. Survive or be conquered. So until our resources are unlimited as well as energy please stfu and hop on board. Your either against or for your country and yourself and family. Jesus Christ I liked one of your articles but please realize life is a competition on the individual level as well as national.

    Like

  8. I think your premise is wrong, Rachel — the number of white Christians or white Americans truly “outraged” about the Starbucks cup could fit into a British phone booth….. not even enough to merit the outrage you’ve spent in this blog post.

    And Rick, Alex was indeed responsive to the post — in fact, to this bullet point specifically–
    “You have no place to say who belongs in America and who doesn’t. If you want to get technical, unless you are 100% Native American, some part of your ancestry is an immigrant. Some part of YOU is the intruder. America did not start out a white country. We stole it from “minorities.” Remember that.”

    Alex is exactly right. There is no place on earth that “belonged” to any specific people group at the start, including the various native tribes who were on this unnamed continent before the pilgrims arrived. Survive or be conquered.

    Like

  9. Just found this blog and after reading it i can say i loved it…first time in my entire life that i actually decide to follow a blog

    Like

  10. so glad there are people who feel the same as I! Not to downgrade a whole generation, but it is a trend I see and cry for. As much as the main city of “The Hunger Games” saga is a farce, I feel the society of this America as changing. Let’s not be “the sheep” but an individual who can see their future, past, and act in the present to be the change they want to see in the world. Go Rachel, and go, Oxytocin Chronicles!

    Like

  11. It’s not only white people who do wrong. I find you concentrate mostly on Caucasian race. Nah. They ( as a race) might have done some fucked up shit–and still continue to do so—but so do many other races. im so tired of being blamed (again, as a generality, being white myself) for something I took no part in, not do I agree with. Everything you listed–all the horrible shit that has happened, I feel is abhorrent and can never wrap my mind around that kind of hate. I enjoyed your blog though, I’ll check it out even more tomorrow. The ‘mellinials are being pussies’ pulled me in. My favorite.
    P.s. I think hash tags are dumb as fuck and I absolutely did not support the uproar about the red cup. It’s a fucking cup. End of story.
    Keep it up! Thanks!

    Like

  12. Rachel, in response to this post and specifically to who belongs here in America, I would like to share a letter that was written to the editor of the OC Register but was not printed. Her husband decided to shared it on the internet. It’s very well said. Here it is…

    So many letter writers have based their arguments on how this land is made up of immigrants. Ernie Lujan for one, suggests we should tear down the Statue of Liberty because the people now in question aren’t being treated the same as those who passed through Ellis Island and other ports of entry.
    Maybe we should turn to our history books and point out to people like Mr. Lujan why today’s American is not willing to accept this new kind of immigrant any longer. Back in 1900 when there was a rush from all areas of Europe to come to the United States, people had to get off a ship and stand in a long line in New York and be documented. Some would even get
    down on their hands and knees and kiss the ground. They made a pledge to uphold the laws and support their new country in good and bad times. They made learning English a primary rule in their new American households and some even changed their names to blend in with their new home.
    They had waved good-bye to their birth place to give their children a new life and did everything in their power to help their children assimilate into one culture. Nothing was handed to them. No free lunches, no welfare, no labor laws to protect them. All they had were the skills and craftsmanship they had brought with them to trade for a future of prosperity.
    Most of their children came of age when World War II broke out. My father fought alongside men whose parents had come straight over from Germany, Italy, France and Japan . None of these 1st generation Americans ever gave any thought about what country their parents had come from. They were Americans fighting Hitler, Mussolini and the Emperor of Japan. They were defending the United States of America as one people.
    When we liberated France, no one in those villages were looking for the French-American or the German-American or the Irish-American. The people of France saw only Americans. And we carried one flag that represented one country. Not one of those immigrant sons would have thought about picking up another country’s flag and waving it to represent who they were. It would have been a disgrace to their parents who had sacrificed so much to be here. These immigrants truly knew what it meant to be an American. They stirred the melting pot into one red, white and blue bowl.
    And here we are with a new kind of immigrant who wants the same rights and privileges. Only they want to achieve it by playing with a different set of rules, one that includes the entitlement card and a guarantee of being faithful to their mother country. I’m sorry, that’s not what being an American is all about. I believe that the immigrants who landed on Ellis Island in the early 1900s deserve better than that for all the toil, hard work and sacrifice in raising future generations to create a land that has become a beacon for those legally searching for a better life. I think they would be appalled that they are being used as an example by those waving foreign country flags.
    And for that suggestion about taking down the Statue of Liberty, it happens to mean a lot to the citizens who are voting on the immigration bill. I wouldn’t start talking about dismantling the United States just yet.
    (signed)
    Rosemary LaBonte

    Like

    1. Spot on, Rosemary. My grandfather came through Ellis Island from Italy in 1920. He made learning English his first priority. He never took a dime from the government (with the obvious exception being social security after he retired) and worked until he retired and he lived a full enjoyable life. He was not a man of means but he lived comfortably throughout his life. He put his country first. (yes, you CAN do that AND still honor your heritage) He has been gone nearly 30 years and there is not a day that goes by where I don’t think of him. I suspect he is turning over in his grave with what we have become. He was a proud American but something tells me you (Rachel) would not tell him he hates others were he still with us, bu that is exactly what you are doing to people who are of this mentality today. JMHO. Why the difference? That is a rhetorical question.

      And for perspective, let me tell you about German family I know, who recently (around 2012) moved to America as LEGAL resident aliens. It took them 4 YEARS to get approval. Once they finally got it, they moved to the states with their three children. They all speak fluent English. They have since started a successful repair shop for RV’s that now employs about 50 people. When they came up for renewal of their visas, they were practically interrogated as to “what they were really doing here” and why did they have so many employees with German surnames working here, etc. (almost half of surnames in the US are Germanic, duh) all the while, illegal aliens (yes, THAT is what they are called, I do not buy into this PC, “undocumented immigrant” bullshit. That is half our problem, PC. But PC is another discussion altogether) are getting EBT cards and free healthcare, are here ILLEGALLY, and not be held to account for that. Their visas nearly did not get renewed until they retained an attorney who argued that they were being unfairly targeted even after showing PROOF of NOT being a burden to the system and having built a successful business (which by the way they are about to expand which is going create…wait for it…JOBS) which would have forced them to uproot and dismantle the life they built for themselves and head back to Germany and have to start from scratch again. Not to mention putting 50 people out of work. THEY WERE TARGETED for NOT being “minorities”. This is completely unacceptable and if you think otherwise, you have failed. Equality is equality, not just for minorities, but everyone. Where was the equality here? Why were the white Germans given extra scrutiny? They aren’t minorities, so i guess their “white privilege” did not help, becaus there is no such thing. Oh yea, I am 43 years old and…tick tock…I am still waiting for my white privilege but I guess it missed the train…

      Like

  13. But I thought I CAN call people the n-word (and say the actual word if I want to) and tell racist jokes because people just get too darn offended and I should be able to say what I want?

    Like

  14. Rachel, I agree with most of what you say. I don’t think white privilege really exists to any significant extent, and I don’t think racism is a big problem today. The mainstream media would LOVE to have you and everyone else in the world think otherwise though. Watch this interview of Larry Elder, I think you’ll enjoy it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=piwaBO6U43U

    Like

    1. Agree totally. “white privilege” is a term manufactured by bleeding heart liberals who think that anyone who is white are of means and entitled to certain things and anyone who is not is down and out and have never oppressed anyone else. News flash: It is 2016, not 1800. Slavery has been abolished. The civil rights act was passed. We have a black president and black people and other minorities in all branches of government and military, both in regular and leadership roles. We have men like Ben Carson who rose to be come one of the most respected medical professionals in decades. I am not an Obama fan by any stretch, but what he (and men like Carson) have achieved would have been impossible if what the liberals say about racism and hate were really true. 99% of the perceived racism and hate in America is manufactured by liberals who are desperately trying to assert what they believe to be their moral superiority in the name of social justice. Without this manufactured hate, their entire platform would collapse and they know it, which is why they are desperately clinging to it. The other 5% are ignorant people who I would bet my next paycheck are a fringe group and exist in fewer numbers with every passing generation. My fellow liberal Americans, it is time to let this one go. The sooner you do, the better off we all are going to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

